Supressor on a Savage B Mag?

You will probably have to go with a 5.56 can. Doubt any rimfire cans will be able to handle the pressure of that round.

MPH said:
Need some help guys. I have no experience with putting a silencer on a rifle. I am wondering if I could put on on the below gun that has the thinner sporter barrel. If so, what would be the pluses and minuses. Also, any specific recommendations for a particular suppressor, etc.

Thanks,

Mike

http://www.savagearms.com/firearms/model/B.MagTarget [/quote

The Bmag in that link has the heavy stainless barrel and is fine for threading for use with a suppressor BUT you'll need to use a 223 centerfire suppressor because I'm not aware of any of the rimfire cans that are 17WSM rated. Maybe, one of the rimfire cans that's 5.7x28 rated BUT never assume, ALWAYS, contact the manufacturer and ask them before you screw one on something different.

If the link is wrong and you're actually thinking about threading the standard skinny barrel sporter model Bmag, I don't believe there is nearly enough barrel diameter to allow enough shoulder for a suppressor.

I just bought a heavy barrel stainless Bmag and I have the long and short TBAC rimfire cans as well as the new 223P2. I talked to Zak at Thunder Beast Arms Company and he told me I need to use my 223 can NOT either of my rimfire cans.

Baffle strikes and or ruined or blown up suppressors will wreck your day in a hurry. Best of luck with your purchase/s.