Recoil........AR vs. Bolt gun

Nibbler

OK guys, I'm new to the "Black Rifle" club, and actually have never fired an AR. I have been doing research on all the top brands, calibers, and configurations. (must be 1000's!)

Question......I am DEFINITELY going to purchase an AR style rifle very soon. I am leaning towards a 308 instead of a 223. Does the AR, being gas operated, really cut recoil an appreciable amount? I mean, will a 308 AR recoil about the same as a 223 bolt rifle?

HELP !! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused1.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused1.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused1.gif

The AR-10 in .308 kicks much less than a bolt action with the same round. Without a break it will still kick more than a .223. With a good muzzle break the recoil is reduced a huge amout but they are LOUD!

Thanks for the info Mike! Nothing like feedback from someone who knows. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grinning-smiley-003.gif

When I started building the .25 WSSM on the AR-15 frame I was a little worried about the recoil with the heavier bullets. The first shooting that I did was with factory 120 grain loads. I was sending them out of a 22" barrel at just under 3000 fps and the recoil was quite lite. Nothing at all what I had expected. That heavy bolt and carrier moving back durring recoil makes a lot of difference.

Nibbler if this is your first AR I would suggest the AR15 instead of the AR10. There are more calibers available in the AR15 platform and it's quite a bit lighter also. The AR10 platform guns are not nearly as easy to sell if you decide down the road it's not for you.

I have both models and prefer to shoot the AR15's in any one of the three calibers I have over the AR10. I do enjoy the AR10 but it does not get anywhere the use the 15's get.

Nothing wrong with the AR10 except cost and weight but if you wish to add another caliber, again the cost is significant over the smaller AR15.