Broken gas key

Rustydust

Was out popping groud squirrels with good friend Kevin today. Just installed a new spring and rubber doughnut in my ejector in my AR-15 and wanted to see how it was working. Shot one round off and the report sounded funny. The bolt did not come back so I manually ejected the spent round and tried again. Same thing. Huh. Pulled the bolt out of the gun and noticed that the front half of my gas key (the part the goes up against the gas tube) was broken off. WTH? How did that happen? A few years ago I had the barrel threaded for my HTG suppressor and Kevin seems to think that the suppressor might have caused more blow-back force resulting in the failure of the gas key. Since I am not an AR expert I thought I would toss this one out there and ask you guys. What say you? Did the addition of a can on the end of my barrel cause this or at least help it along? Something I need to do to keep this from happening again?

How many rounds are on that bcg? Seems to me that they didn't heat treat or use the right steel. I'd let the outfit know whoever they are that made the bcg, and see what they say. Have you ever dropped it onto a concrete floor that could of stressed it? I'm just trying to figure this one out here. If you had to figure a weak spot, the spot you describe would be the spot I would figure would break since it's the least amount of steel there. If it was from just a can, I would think we would hear more of this with so many guys shooting with a can now. You might want to put an adjustable gas block on it now and see if you can fine tune it anyway. After you get a new key of course ;•)