bolt touching scope. i

ohihunter2014

just purchased a savage axis 2 heavy barrel with vortex scope and burris med rings. the problem is the bolt it hitting the scope by like millimeters. I have an original axis with medium weaver rings and the bolt doesn't touch that scope so what gives. also the bolt seems loose in the action.

you seem to have more problems than a pregnant nun.
smile.gif

the easy solution to this one is put taller rings on it.

What kind of scope is on the original? There are two things that come into play with your setup that I am aware of...1) The bolt throw on the axis seems to be pretty high so it will run close to the scope. 2) Vortex eye pieces are larger than most other brands (from what I have seen). The objective on my Diamondback 4-12x40 is 48mm and the eye piece is 42.5 mm so the bolt is real close with a weaver one piece base and Warne medium rings. I have no experience with the crossfire II but I ASSUME it would be a similar situation. JMO.

Shelton

Originally Posted By: jumprightinitYou can heat and bend the bolt handle.

Only if there's allowance at the bottom end of the stroke for it to fit once bent.

This is an incredibly extreme solution for a very simple fix though. Taller rings, problem solved.

I know I can get taller rings but that would bring it up higher for my liking.. I just didn't understand how the same gun with the same rings had an issue and one didn't.

cant take the scope back cause the bolt put marks on it. ill just swap rings for higher ones. other scope is bushnell banner.

Originally Posted By: SlickerThanSnotyou seem to have more problems than a pregnant nun.
smile.gif

the easy solution to this one is put taller rings on it.

and you are correct. it seems this rifle has been nothing but an issue. bad scope, wont eject, bolt wont move, etc.