22-250 and 55gr V Max?

dhc-6

I am just getting started reloading and so far I am really enjoying it, I am trying to develope a load for my Ruger M77 MK2 using 55 Gr V Max bullets but can't seem to get groups less than 1 1/2". I am using IMR 4064 powder and have been loading from 32gr to 34gr with out any luck, I would appreciate any advice I can get. Thanks

Are you seating the bullets far out of the case? I've noticed the .22-250 tends to like the bullet seated deeper in the case than other cartridges, at least in the rifles I've loaded for.

The best shooting bullet I've found for any .22-250 is the 52 gr Sierra.

Originally Posted By: joedAre you seating the bullets far out of the case? I've noticed the .22-250 tends to like the bullet seated deeper in the case than other cartridges, at least in the rifles I've loaded for.

The best shooting bullet I've found for any .22-250 is the 52 gr Sierra.

I am seating them to get a OAL of 2.345" according to the Lyman manual that I am using. I think that I will try running the powder up closer to 35.5 grains and see if I can get it to perform, if that doesn't work I will go to a different 55 grain bullet and start over.

Not the vmax but the 55 sp I load for mine shoots 1/2" groups with 35.8gr imr4064 and likes the bullets seated at 2.350

Originally Posted By: DANNY-LNot the vmax but the 55 sp I load for mine shoots 1/2" groups with 35.8gr imr4064 and likes the bullets seated at 2.350

I will try setting my OAL to 2.350 and see what happens, I would imagine that I will need to start all over with my powder charges and work from the lowest to the highest to have accurate data. Thanks