Varget 223 loads

I did drink the Varget Kool Aid and it did not float my boat till I started shooting heavier bullets in the 223, and the 150-168g in the 308. H322 and H4895 do a much better job on the lighter bullets in accuracy and speed.

I know as components are on the short side everyone is trying to maximize their use of what ever powder they have.

24.5g of H322 with a 50g what ever in a 1-12 to 1-14 twists is simply magic in a 223. 24.5g of H4895 is magic with the 55's. I do want to get the best speed I can out of a powder with extreme accuracy. H4895 also worked better than Varget in my 22/250. Everyone raved on how Varget worked so well with the 243, mine liked IMR 4064 better, and win 760 even better yet. However, H4350 in the 243 with the 70g is magic at 3600+ fps, Varget did not come close in accuracy with 3/4" being about the best. The other powders shoot little tiny groups.

It seems that a lot of people have gotten away from the H322 in the 223 for the 40-55g bullets. This is probably do to marketing. If you want to shoot tiny, tiny groups with 40-53g bullets with some speed, I would urge you to try the H322, an Extreme powder. A typical load with a 50g would be 24.5g with a 14 twist, with a velocity of 3450 fps, and 23.5g for 55g at 3300-3350 fps, your rifle of course may vary a bit. You will not be unhappy with the decision, just buy a 8 lb keg of H322 if you see one for sale.

I have written this blistering attack on varget because with all the Hype, many are lead to believe it is the one powder cure all in most cartridges, and it is not unless you are satisfied with 1" groups, and in some cases, some VERY SLOW VELOCITIES.