Two misses...Help.

Bluestreak

Newbie here. I'm in NC hunting some areas where reaction time is pretty tight. I've had two dogs come it to my Jack Daddy at full speed, get about 5' from it and turn 90 degrees and bail. Last night, decoy was placed at about 30 yards out in a small opening. By the time I reacted I got a shot off and missed a running yote at 17 yards.

Do I need to stop using a decoy in these setups? Change over to a shotgun? My setup is a red light system on an AR .223. If not using a decoy, will they come in a little slower? More of searching vs attacking?

you gotta get them to stop before getting to the decoy. bark, growl, whistle, YELL if you have to.
Keep using the decoy, its working...In tight spots like you described a shotgun could be usefull to.

Last edited:
I think I would try my shotgun if there coming in that fast.I would still use my decoy.you have them coming to your setup-just change guns and see how that works.don't change anything else-that's what I would do-good luck

This may sound strange, but you have to aim high when engaging a target at less than 40 yards.

Or you could zero your rifle at 25 yards..........but that plays havoc on longer shots.

Our team runs scopes with a BDC reticle and we constantly train to use the first BDC on close/moving shots with a darn near 100% success rate.

Are you using sticks or anything? Most of my hunting is close quarters to and I free hand it with an AR. I also, despite some success with it, switched from the red dot to the Nikon p223 zeroed at 75 yds and my shot to connection ratio drastically improved. I also changed how I sit and now place myself so that where I think they are going to come from is to my L (I'm a righty) and always keep both hands on the gun in shooting position.

Last edited: