My setup. Help me out.

Nebraska Boy

This is my first post. I have been lurking for a while, and searching for information. I have been trying to make a transition from strictly deer hunting, and into predator/varmint hunting, and have slowly been growing my gear. I went out a few times last fall, and was able to draw some coyotes out of a draw. Unfortunately, I could not bring them within range of the AR I was using at the time. I also just got back last weekend from a Prairie Dog hunt in Valentine, NE, and had a great time. It was my first experience doing that, and I had a blast!

Please critique or make suggestions on something I may be missing or need. I would be looking to hunt mainly coyotes and the occasional prairie dog hunt. I have private family ground to do so in Northeast Nebraska. I am a teacher at a public school, and therefore do not have an unlimited budget.

Rifle: Ruger American Predator .223
Optics: Nikon P-223 3-9x40 BDC
Ammo: Hornady Superformance 53 grain V-Max in .223
E-Caller: Fox Pro Spitfire

I know that I need a bipod, I have been looking around. I also think I should get a decoy of some kind. Let me know your thoughts.

you've got all you really need in my opinion. throw in a mojo critter decoy for occasional use and possibly a predator hunting chair/mat and you're off and running

Welcome to predator masters
+1 on the mojo critter,chair and shooting sticks.
You didn't say but some good camo face mask and gloves will help
good hunting
Foggy

Last edited:
First response nailed it, a seat, decoy, and personally I prefer sticks to a bipod, but others disagree.

That is of course unless you can hunt at night in Nebraska...in which case there is still a lot of shopping you can do...

It's easy to get caught up in "stuff" and suddenly realize it's a lot of work packing all this gear out to do a 15 minute stand.