Adjustable gasblock issue

Coyotejunki

I put together a rifle the other night, and took it to the range yesterday afternoon. I started shooting some loads to sight in the rifle and to adjust the gas block to fully bring back the BCG enough to lock behind an empty magazine. I wasn't getting enough gas to do this. So last night I took the gasblock off and did some measuring. It seems that the hole for the in the top of the barrel and the one in the gasblock were not lining up correctly, I had to move the GB further out (.050") to get them to line up. See the picture. Is this normal?

I usually push the GB up against the shoulder on the barrel. It works fine now and I had to screw in the screw to reduce gas flow back tot he BCG.

My next question is with this adjustment screw that reduces gasflow back to the BCG, it is very loose in the GB and there is no set screw to keep it from backing out. Is there a trick to keep it in place, once adjusted? I was thinking of using locktite, but was worried it would breakdown do to heat from the barrel.

There is no problem with your gas block. It was made that way on purpose. It has the space to install a hand guard cap and not cover the gas port.

Use a little High Temp RTV silicone on the threads, adjust as normal. It will hold the screw and still let you adjust as needed.

Originally Posted By: R JohnsonThere is no problem with your gas block. It was made that way on purpose. It has the space to install a hand guard cap and not cover the gas port.

Use a little High Temp RTV silicone on the threads, adjust as normal. It will hold the screw and still let you adjust as needed.

Dang you Ritch!! LOL

Greg

SLR rifleworks has gas blocks that the adjustment screw clicks to let you know were it is set at and will not loosen if you are ever in the market for one check them out.