About to start a big Cerakote project. Paint experts needed!

Rock Knocker

Me and two buddies are going to be cerakoting our ARs and maybe some other stuff.

I've used the bake on cerakote before with good results but I only did one flat color. This is going to be camo.

Some of my biggest concerns is trying to use stick on stencils on the base coat before curing. Also layering different colors of cerakote before the cure. What should I watch out for? I'm no paint expert.

I would like to use stick on stencils but I also have a cheesegrater handguard... I know it will be tedious work but is there anything I should know that will make it easier? Where is a good place to get little stickers made for painters?

I'm going for a unique pattern. I will post a picture if I can find one that will help show what I'm looking for.

Basically I am looking for some vine and leaf type stencils.

Last edited:
I am not sure about little stickers my wife has a machine that cuts vinyl decals I have used them to stencil a gun. She can make any design basically if your interested let me know

I might suggest that you get online and search and get some vine and leaf stickers from craft type of places.
you could use a stencil, but i find that most of the time it's just not as sharp as i would like, and there could be some overspray..
I have tried the cutting them out of painters tape, but that is a time consuming thing and in the end you can spend your time on light thin coats rather than cutting out stencils and stuff.

I found that you have to think about it in reverse when doing multi colors. I did the base coat that i liked and then you have to color the area you want to put a leaf the right color, and then let it dry and put the leaf over it, and then do the next layer of color.
Afterwards then pull all the tape/stickers off.
I also found that if you don't love it, and i mean really love it, start over.. You will be happy longer this way.