barometric pressure and the role it plays

utah_1911

At what point is a barometric pressure change "alot?" less than 15% seems to make a difference. I am not a scientist, a professional coyote caller, or meteroligist. This may all be pure coincidence, or have no merit whatsoever. If coyotes are predictable at one thing it's being unpredictable. But I have been keeping a log and this is what I have seen. This has been recorded over the past 12 weeks. 2 hunts per week. 4 coyotes killed. 2 missed. 3 in the cross hairs but out of range.

Barometric pressure lower than 25.15: no response to locator calls. Periodic responses to solo howls. All of my coyotes were killed this way and at this pressure but one.

Barometric pressure between 25.16-26.16: aggressive and immediate response to locator calls. including barks, yips and howls. Dead silence after sunrise. No coyote has committed to a call after locators.

Barometric pressure between 26.16-26.35: delayed response to locator calls, meaning greater that a minute. Mostly solo howls. No barks or yips. No responses from howls after sunrise. I got howls from pig distress...In Utah...In the desert. One coyote was shot last week with this sound and pressure.

Barometric pressure above 26.35: no response to locator calls. No response to howls. No response to distress. These days were what we refer to as "busts".

Just thought I'd share what I found
smile.gif

Oh, it has a lot of merit... And, keeping logs will help you pay closer attention to details.