which state would you go

I'm really new to the sport, but I have been thinking about going to a spot in western South Dakota that I've turkey hunted four or five times. We've always seen a few coyotes on our trips out there, as well as a bobcat now and then, and I know the area pretty good. But I think just about any western state would be a good hunt when you're from Indiana like we are. Lol!

Wyoming - No license needed!

+ I killed all the Coyotes in my area's!

When are you planning? I wouldnt expect big things this time of the year, most coyotes have been educated and depending on the area are not worth much if you are selling the furs.

Now if you have a decoy dog and can get into some territories of mating pairs you may have MUCH better luck.

south or north Dakota would be good. I have been turkey hunting north east nebraska five of six times now and see some there as well.
But I also know that those states have been hit with mange really bad and numbers are down.
also states like wyoming and montana will have coyote kills put on by ranchers, so dont know what the numbers would be like there.
I would love to go to either one of those states though just for the veiw.

I am not sure what month to go. I am trying to plan it for this fall/winter coming up. we are thinking maybe late october. Nevada or New Mexico maybe not sure though what do you guys think.

Originally Posted By: FairChase93Originally Posted By: WcboyPlus we would like to hunt at night using the lights

Then South Dakota won't work for you, it's not legal here.

Same here

Originally Posted By: Mr. PoppadopalisWyoming - No license needed!

Is there quite a bit of public land to hunt?

Originally Posted By: coyotewhispererOriginally Posted By: Mr. PoppadopalisWyoming - No license needed!

Is there quite a bit of public land to hunt?