Leupold vs Vortex Viper

versdog

I currently have a Leupold VX-III 4-14.5x40. I started to pushing my 22-250 AI further (was hoping to get to 7-800 yards). I mostly spot and Stalk and call Coyotes with it. So I was going to send in the scope to Leupold and get turrets installed on it. $90 per turret.

I have recently found Vortex Optics Viper HS Long Range Rifle Scope, 4-16x50 for $599. I have also found a good deal on a Vortex viper PST 4-16X50. Should I buy a vortex and sell the Leupold or keep the leupold and forget the Vortex.

I figured the Vortex would cost a slight bit more due to rings. I have no experience with Vortex Viper Scopes so let me know how they compare.
Thanks in advance
Scott

Last edited:
Just my humble opinion, the VX3 and the Viper are in two different league's. The Leupold has much better glass and a time proven performance. Vortex is all the rage right now, but for what you pay there are better options. If it were me I'd pay the money for new turrets and be done with it.

That's not to say that Vortex is a junk scope, I just don't think they are as great as people are making them out to be. I was on the bandwagon at one time myself, I had a bad experience with a Viper HS and after reevaluating their product I generally look elsewhere. I still own one Vortex scope and it does what i want it to do but there are better values for what I paid for it.

The VIP warranty is awesome no doubt but I'd rather have better performance than an outstanding warranty.

So after all that what I'm trying to say, in my opinion you would be downgrading by going to the Viper.

Originally Posted By: FairChase93Just my humble opinion, the VX3 and the Viper are in two different league's. The Leupold has much better glass and a time proven performance. Vortex is all the rage right now, but for what you pay there are better options. If it were me I'd pay the money for new turrets and be done with it.