First time duck hunter. Questions

sumrifle

I have been hunting birds, small game and big game for 40 years. I have never hunted waterfowl. That is about to change come December 17th. I will shoot my Remington 870 3" and have a bunch of shells. Not sure what the experienced duck hunter would choose and why.

I am going with an experienced waterfowl hunter. He belongs to a duck club and is a Warden with CA DFW. I ordered waders from Bass Pro Shops and think I have everything else I need.

Would you use Improved Cylinder Choke or Modified? What size shot do you prefer?

I like to use steel 2s or 3s. I general shoot improved choke but switch to modified if birds are educated.

Thanks after posting I Google searched the question and got a few different answers but #2 for most ducks and BB or BBB for Geese seems to be generally accepted. I think I will plan on #2 and see what my friend suggests.

I prefer 3 inch 2's with a modified choke. I use 2 3/4 inch 4's for early season close shooting or when floating a small river jump shooting.

Last edited:
I would go with #2 as well UNLESS you are specifically targeting Teal, in which case I would go smaller.

Am I correct I need to go to Post Office to get Federal Duck Stamp? Regular Gun Store or other that sell CA license for State Stamp? Thanks for the input. I will take #2's and some smaller and I suppose BB or BBB in case the Geese are there.

Originally Posted By: sumrifleAm I correct I need to go to Post Office to get Federal Duck Stamp?

Last time I bought one you had to go to a First-Class Post Office to get the federal stamp, but that was several years ago. That might have changed.

I like and use steel 2 shot with improved cylinder in my Auto 5 for ducks. As recommended above, for teal I step down to 5 shot and for geese I might move up to 1 shot or BB (unless geese come by while I have 2 shot in, then I use that).