Remington AR problem

Bruton68

Ok I'm pretty new to these , here is the prob, the upper and lower move a tiny bit up and down also a little left and right , it feels like it isn't locking up as tight as it should , left and right it groups stay the same but up and down will vary as much as 3 in or better, is there a fix for this? Thanks in advance

All of the sighting devices possible for an AR are mounted on the upper, so I'm having a hard time believing in 3" of disparity due to a little receiver mal-fit. As long as the BCG cleanly enters the buffer tube (and the buffer is oversized to the bolt to allow that to happen), receiver play is most often just a mental issue rather than a physical one.

I have a Remington R15. Its loose as can be.Was worried about the same thing,Dont fret there all like this.at least all the ars ive had my hands on.My r15 shoots anything i have feed it under 1 moa.

The loose fit between the upper and lower receiver have nothing to do with accuracy.

The barrel, chamber, bolt and firing pin are all encased in the upper receiver. All those parts contribute to accuracy, especially the chamber and barrel. Installing an O-ring or one of those wedges is more about a mind game with the shooter rather than solving an alleged accuracy issue.

Originally Posted By: Widow maker 223A O ring around the upper take down pin block helps. Accuwedges are junk.

Not sure I understand the reason behind this comment. A rubber o-ring is OK but a purpose built rubber wedge is junk. Care to elaborate?

Originally Posted By: Steve_in_PAThe loose fit between the upper and lower receiver have nothing to do with accuracy.

The barrel, chamber, bolt and firing pin are all encased in the upper receiver. All those parts contribute to accuracy, especially the chamber and barrel. Installing an O-ring or one of those wedges is more about a mind game with the shooter rather than solving an alleged accuracy issue.