Scope flip up covers

coolbrze

Bought a Leupold VX-R for my AR, what do y'all recommend for flip up caps to protect the scope? Are the Butler Creeks any good? If so, which sizes do I need?

From my understanding, the Butler Creeks were changed and the new design isn't very good. I have always used the old style Butler Creeks and have been very happy with them, now I will use the Leupold Alumina flip ups.

I've gone through 3 sets of the Butler Creek (non multiflex version). I've got a set of the Multiflex's now. Hope they're better, I was told they are....

I recently bought a set of butler creeks, they don't seem any different to me than the ones I've been buying for over 20 years. I dunno if they've changed, or if I just got old stock or what.

If it were me, and since you have a Leupold optic, I would spend the few extra bucks and get a set of the Leupold flip ups..I have some of the older Butler Creek and they are starting to give me some problems with staying closed, but then, I've had them for quite a few years and used them under some abnormally harsh conditions...

If you're tired of breaking Butler Creek POS covers. Strongly consider the Aadland Engineering scope covers. They may LOOK like BC...but they aren't even in the same universe.

http://www.aadmount.com/Caps/Caps.html

PICT0496.JPG

They look nice...but $100??? I think I'll pass. Neoprene scope coats and bikini covers are good enough for now.

Last edited:
You can keep spending your $20 on Butler Creek as long as you want...but for $100...THEY ARE WORTH IT.

NOT ONLY THAT, but all you have to do is contact Jon and ask him to make you a set to the specs of your optics objective and eye piece if he doesn't have what you need. He takes custom orders all the time.

My 17lb rifle says..."Try that 10-15 times with your Butler Creeks"

IMAG1121_zps3bb39492.jpg

Originally Posted By: sendit223Those AADMounts look good. What are they made of? Have you tried to Cerakote them?

Sendit