17 hornet

Romerton74

So I was in the LGS and stumbled across a savage 17 hornet. I've always wanted one so I decided why not. I want to reload for it and I'm sure it's been asked before and I apologize if it has but I just wanted to know what's worked best for you guys? Thanks

I can't say with any experience but I am going through your same deal right now. I have the .17 hornet and all components and I will be reloading shortly. The factory ammo shoots so well that primarily I am interested in 25 grain'ers. My biggest challenge was finding suitable powders. What I settld on, and what I found, was AA2200. Looks just about perfect for 25 grain pills. I have heard that 1680 is great but it can cause some pressure issues. I also have a pound of 4227 that might work ok. I will let you know what I come out with. I am curious if I willl see the dreaded shift in performace from new brass and fire brass. I've never worked with such a small round before.

I also am on the same playing field with you fellas I got a hornet and am planning to reload I picked up some 25 grain v max to try from what I've been reading seems that lilgun I thought was the powder of choice but i also have some 4227 and 322 thAt I may try but hoping to wait til spring to start working up a load I have 70 fActory loads left in the 20grain so either I kill a pile of stuff or miss a lot ......lol

The only book that has the reloading info right now is the new hornady book but I'm having trouble finding it here at any of the sport stores close may just have to order it and the powder load is kinda tight on the edges meaning that starting load to max load is a matter of a grain of powder so not a lot of play room.
Good luck and hopefully good reloading post some results please if you do get some thing interesting please keep us informed