22 Magnum rimfire

phsnt hntr

I was thinking about getting a semi auto 22 magnum. I was looking at the cz 512 or maybe a Magnum Research. The price is about $200 difference. If it was you what would you buy? Plus any good info on either one of these would be great. Thanks

I have no experience with the Magnum Research but I've heard good things. They are built of a 10/22 action right? For the price its hard to beat a CZ, I have 6 of them. The 512 is nice but you have to get over the plastic receiver. If thats hard for you then look at the BRNO ZKM611, the predecessor to the 512. It sure is beautiful. If you want a really beautiful semi-auto 22 mag look into the H&K 300. Won't find a more sexy WMR. If you need any more help I'd at least browse over at Rimfire Central. You'll find anything you could ever want to know about rimfires over there

I got a Rem auto-loader..........fun gun to shoot....like a little ar without the larger mags.

I like it.......would have opted for a Marlin had I been able to find one..saw one at an auction go cheap here lately...

Great fox/raccoon gun. CZ or Magnum Research will be good........if you can hold each one and be honest with yourself and pick the one you like.

I have the 512 22wmr. I was able to get the trigger down to a nice 2lbs 8 oz. It was 4lbs out of the box. Not too much creep now. Only had it out once but I was getting really nice groups just using my shooting sticks. I was getting groups < 1" @ 50 yards. With my bad shooting and sticks that is good. I am confident it will go 1/2" or less @ 50 off a bench. With talley low rings the scope is just the right height.

The magnum research looks good but is so expensive.

I had a remington 597 heavy barrel laminated stock in 22 wmrf it was a really nice gun, wish I still had it. Did about 1 inch @ 100yds with remmy ballistic tip ammo and it was always fur friendly even with head shots on kit foxes