Duke Traps

I am new to trapping, just getting started this season. I recently bought a dozen duke #2's coil spring. The other day I was talking to an experienced trapper, and he told me that I would have to file the trap down, because they are curved, and if a coyote comes in too quickly they will not go off. If anyone can elaborate on this it would be greatly appreciated.

Dukes need a lot of work out of the box, I am not sure what he is referring to but the jaws are rather sharp and you may have to take the edge off but just go light. The pans usually have to be adjusted properly and you will need to put a proper chain and multiple swivels on it. Look up some videos on trap prep from the pros and a good trapping book will help.

Just curious is this your first time trapping and are you targeting yotes? If so you may want to try a few other critters first and learn the basics of trapping especially trap beading because yotes can be a hard one to trap. Look up Mark June he has several books and DVD'S ON YOTE TRAPPING AND IN MY HUMBLE OPINION IS ONE OF THE BEST. Sorry did not mean to hit the caps button and I am to lazy to fix it.

Yes this is my first time trapping ever. Will be targeting coyotes mainly, but may try coons too if the weather stays right. Thanks for the help.
Draque

There is a few videos on you tube on duke trap prep I still don't know why duke traps get a bad rap all traps need some prep when new or for your style or likeing good like hope you get some fur in your steel

Originally Posted By: pokeyjeeperThere is a few videos on you tube on duke trap prep I still don't know why duke traps get a bad rap all traps need some prep when new or for your style or likeing good like hope you get some fur in your steel