AR build... thinking 6.5 Grendel

rcal2014

Hey guys,
New to the forum, been hanging out and reading every thing, everyone here seems to be pretty knowledgeable and eager to help. So onto my questions, I have been wanting to build an AR for a while and I want a multipurpose caliber mainly for coyotes but a few deer and antelope here and there. I live in Colorado so I have to use .243 or larger. From what I have read about the Grendel Im pretty sure thats the route I will be taking. This is my first build and there are a few things I need some advise on. First is the barrel, I would like to stay around the 400-500 mark if I could. I read some where that you could get a nice grendel barrel off midway but it seems the barrel they are talking about only comes in the Grendel II? Are these different calibers all around? If I buy a barrel without a bolt, will any 6.5 bolt work with the barrel? Or do I need to have the barrel and bolt fitted together? Any help here is greatly appreciated. My last question is the trigger. I have the trigger on my marlin .223 adjusted to 2 lbs and I really like it. I have heard a lot of people like a little heavier pull in an ar platform. Best bang for your buck is what im trying to shoot for with this build, I have a couple rifles I am wanting to sell/trade to fund this project so funds really aren't a big deal I just want to use em in the right location.

Thanks, Ryan

Have you givin the 6/6.8spcll a look? Balistally it's probably not on par, but terminally it works awesome to 300 yards that I've shot at. You need to check headspace on your barrels the same. I like rock river national match triggers but never shot a timney or likes in a AR.