Pros and Cons to .223 wylde

Tgomez82

Hello everyone, I am new to the AR family recently picked one up for a decent price and now its time to start trying to fill the money pit I just purchased. I am wanting to do a trigger system and BCG which I've already picked out and a barrel, so that's where I hope all of you can help I'm wanting a medium heavy barrel and the .223 wylde keeps coming up in my searchs. Thank you in advance.

Well, my only experience with the .223 Wylde chambering was with my extremely accurate RRA Varmint A4. As far as I can tell there's no con to the chambering, even in terms of accuracy (the 1/4" groups my rifle shot proving that). The major pro is that it will fire 5.56 ammo without problem, so if that's all you can find you can at least plink with it.

Originally Posted By: Chris.KWell, my only experience with the .223 Wylde chambering was with my extremely accurate RRA Varmint A4. As far as I can tell there's no con to the chambering, even in terms of accuracy (the 1/4" groups my rifle shot proving that). The major pro is that it will fire 5.56 ammo without problem, so if that's all you can find you can at least plink with it.

+1 No cons that I'm aware of. My RRA Predator Pursuit shoots just as well his Varmint A4.

The Wylde is just what the doctor ordered. In the right barrel they can shoot lights out. In non-quality ones then they still handle all the ammunition types but don't shoot any better because of the chambering. I have two that Ritch built me with Black Hole barrels. They are sold as 556 but are more of a Wylde. The original Wylde has been altered by everybody and their dog. I don't know who does the true original. I suspect many are close but like the 308 Ibet there are ten others.

Greg