Hand Calls

Ran6er

OK I need a couple of them I think. I don't know as I'm new to this.

I'm thinking I need a call that can Howl and bark.
I will need a distress call of some sort.
I was thinking a squeaker to pull them in that last little bit might be good as well.

Can I get all those in one call?

How do I know how to operate them? Some have videos, others just descriptions on the package. Is there a place to get a reference sound that I can try and imitate?

I am not impressed with the options available in the chain stores so please help with some options. . . . .
Thanks

I would send a Private Message to any of the custom call makers with what you would like to obtain...Most of them can fix you up at a very reasonable cost and many have sound files that you can down load to your computer for something on which to practice...

It's going to be a little hard to get one hand call that does that wide of a variety...I picked up a small 'Female Howler' from Bearmanric and a 'Rubber Rabbit' from Kerry Carver that are somewhat my standby callers...I've picked up quite a variety from many of the others, some for specialty areas and some go with me on a routine basis..

I sent my grandfather's old Huntsman horn to one of the call makers several years ago and he converted it to a really great howler...I think it can be heard into the next county...

I would suggest you get a call or two from one of the custom call makers on this forum, such as Bearmanric or Kerry Carver. A good open reed will allow you to make pup howls, kiyi's, and all kinds of distress calls. It is hard to get an open reed that is as loud as a cowhorn or buffalo horn howler, but many of them will get you a long ways toward your goal. There are posts giving instructions on this forum.

Carvers "Strictly Business" call set will get you started nicely. Thats what i started with and they are well made and easy to blow.