New to ars want to build one?s

zr600

I'm new to ars and would like to build one but don't know much about them. What parts come with a lower and what comes with an upper? Do I just pick a lower and upper and they come with everything I need? Just starting to look into it. What brands do you guys recommend?

Originally Posted By: cbass16Did you even open the "The Everything AR Info Thread"
Wow!..I been around here for a little while now and not sure if I have looked at that everything AR thread..looks pretty cool!

For a quick down-n-dirty (why am I still awake?) answer to the OP; The lower receiver is the part you will need to have sent to FFL Dealer, unless you get a partially completed one (seems like a new option the last year or so). The lower RECEIVER is the part that is tracked by the government....hence the FFL requirement.
Virtually every other component is available for purchase through the mail/internet sales whatever..
A good place to look for parts and to help you get a grasp of the different parts, IMO...check out joeboboutfitters.com.

you can buy the uppers and lowers either stripped or fully assembled I prefer stripped so I can put the parts in that I wish you can go from the best parts the average parts its all up to you and what your needs are. I have used Aero precision sets they're very nice and I agree also Joe Bobs has really good prices.

Yes i did and all the links dont seem to be working. It just directs me to the new forum link and i click on it and just takes me to the main forum.

Brownells has some really good videos as does YouTube. Watch several of them to get an idea of what all the parts are and the tools it takes to assemble one. I've got about $200 in my tools so factor that into your first build pricing.

Having said that, I think every AR owner should build one, its fun, easy and a great opportunity to get exactly what you want.