bait question

droopy

so my wife brought home a ton of chicken livers. would they be a decent coyote bait as is or should I grind them up and mix with something? this is my first year and over the first four days of the season I haven't gotten anything, been only using lures(canine force and gusto) and fox urine. tracks were all over the place preseason and now I cant get the buggers in my traps so I wanted to add some bait to my arsenal. thanks for any help

Last edited:
I have never tryed it but should work. The scent post set worked the best for me dirt holes work but the scent post they can't resist and I would give a place 7 days before pulling traps and don't walk to the set check from a distance with binos or a scope. If u walk by u set they know something is off and will avoid the set because of it

If you are not getting action with lures and urine, bait probably won't help much...in fact it may just increase your not target catch of skunks, possums, coons or even crows/ravens depending how you use it.

Are you confident on your scent control, set location and construction?

Just my $.02

TS

are the tracks still there? are you seeing sign of critters. if yes then what was stated about scent and such is true. if the sign is not there now you have to go find them , or wait them out. here in NJ our yotes are on a 10 to 15 day circuit. if I see the sign for 2 days I know for the next 10 to 15 hey will not be here. just food for thought.

as new as I am I'm not confident much lol. I do worry about scent as I'm a boiler tech and handle fuel oil all day and worry that my skin and clothes might smell like fuel. not really seen much sign lately but its been monsoon like for the past week. i'll give them another week and then move on if still nothing I guess