Question about over called areas

newrookie

I have limited experience when it comes to coyotes. I have been lucky a few times but am far away from being a seasoned caller. My question is this . I recently got several ranches to predator hunt on. All of these ranches was once called by a seasoned caller , who according to each ranch owner killed a ton of coyotes on each ranch for several several years. Neither ranch owner has heard from him in awhile so they said I can call it until he comes back around. Would yall waste your time on these places and if you would what techniques would yall use behind a seasoned caller that has had so much luck in an area? Thanks

Odds are he hasn't done anything to hurt your success possibilities. Scout the area just like it is brand new to you. Don't develop negative thoughts about the ranches based on things you don't know.

If he hasn't been heard from in a while why do you consider them "overcalled"? The same tactics should be employed as any other new area [or known area for that matter]. Scouting, scouting, scouting, stand selection, wind, approach, stealth, sun etc... It sounds as if the landowners were kept informed of the previous callers successes and this may be something you want to consider. Learn from your failures and more from your successes. If the tactics you're using aren't working don't be afraid to try something different. Lastly if someone else has killed a ton of coyotes there then that must mean there's a ton of coyotes there to be killed. Sounds like a place I'd love to waste a little time on. Good Luck!

New coyotes will move onto the ranches that have been called in the past plus almost every year there is a new crop of coyotes pups to kill or educate.

I have been calling on some of the same ranches for 25 years now. Mother nature messes with my coyote calling success much more than the number of coyotes that I have killed the year before.