Now what?

Ky Col

I'm new to predator hunting, just seriously started last year after shooting them as they came by while deer hunting, and now I "might" have a problem.

The three main farms I hunt on here in KY are my cousin's and last year I took his grandson with me on a couple day and one night hunts. Well he has a "buddy" that has a caller and I just found out they went calling the other day and plan to call more after gun deer season.

Now my question is those farms going to get over called or what? Being my cousins grandson he gets first pick and knowing him he will head out there every chance.

What can I do? Do I just write those farms off and keep trying to find other farms which I haven't been able to so all year of asking. Or what?? We know on those three farms there are dozens of coyotes there and the neighboring farms because they sound off big time.

If anybody has any ideas how I could keep on hunting those farms I really could use the help. Thanks!!

How big are these farms?
If each are thousands of acres you might be okay. If they're 100 acres each, well, good luck. If it were me and I knew the other guys were calling, I probably would strictly use vocals.
The other tactic I'd use would be bait piles; but I don't know if that's an option for you.

One is 300 acres and the other two are around 200 acres each. All of them have other farms next to them.

I had thought about bait piles since every year we dump the deer guts in the same place where my cousin could shoot coyotes from his porch. But I don't know where to get enough to keep it supplied.

Last edited:
That's not much ground to call really. If it were me I'd probably offer up some free labor on the weekends to the farmers to secure access to more ground or your current ground; basically lease it.
A little work goes a long way when it comes to securing ground.

And now you and others see why Some of us that have hunted for a few years don't like taking new people hunting.