NC Mountain Coyote Calling

squatch

I am new to trying to call in coyotes and want to pick yalls brain.

The location that I am in is in the mountains on NC on a couple hundred acres of woods and cow pasture. I have seen plenty of coyotes on game cameras at night near the open areas, and the only time it was set in the edge of the woods it captured one in the morning. This is all private land and unless there are poachers, there should not be anyone else calling or hunting on it. I know that the dogs are there, and I want to find out how to get them, as they are interfering with the cattle. They can be heard at night howling and yipping up a storm. It is down right spooky sounding.

Equipment: I am using a primos ki-yi and have only tried the rabbit in distress calls. Tonight was my first trip out and like I figured I got nothing to come in/respond.

Question: In the east, should I hunt the open pastures or the woodlands? The only time that any are seen in the fields/pasture is at night. If I hunt the woods how deep in should I go? Should I hunt near creeks or some of the old logging roads? What time of day would be best?

Welcome to the forum. Type in what you would like to know in the search engine at the top of the page and hit enter and read read read. Great guys on here, they will respond as they get time.

Last edited: