Stocky's vs Boyd's

trapperj

Going to upgrade the ol 22-250 stock. It's a mod 70 winchester. I like the laminates and am wondering if their is any major advantage of a Stocky stock over a Boyds? The stocky would be 259.00 and the Boyds around 100.00. Any suggestions? Appreciate It.

Last edited:
I have no experience with the Stocky brand but I have a Boyds thumbhole on my Marlin 22-250. It helped my accuracy a bit by free floating the barrel and helped balance the gun a bit better (the Marlin X7VH rifles are weighted like a sledgehammer with the factory stock). If you are considering the thumbhole version in a boyds, the only complaint I have is it seems to be designed for people with bigger hands. I'm right on the edge of my hands not being big enough but it is still very comfortable. In my opinion the Boyds is a good stock for the money. Good luck!

Shelton

I like Boyds stocks. First they are cheap and easy to glass bed.
They are light weight and I do not worry about scratching them in the field.
You will have to add sling studs but they sell a stud kit with drills and a jig to locate and drill the holes.

Originally Posted By: willy1947

I like Boyds stocks. First they are cheap and easy to glass bed.
They are light weight and I do not worry about scratching them in the field.
You will have to add sling studs but they sell a stud kit with drills and a jig to locate and drill the holes.

Willy, mine came with studs installed already. Has 1 in the back and two in the front, 1 for bipod and 1 for sling. It is a varmint model so that might be why they come with them installed? Just curious but good to know for the future if they don't come with them now because i plan on putting one on my Savage 223. Thanks!

Shelton

Awesome, thanx for the replies. I was looking at the prairie hunter from Boyd's. If no advantage to Stocky's, and xtra 150.00 I'll go with the Boyd's.

Prairie hunter

Vented thumb hole varmint