Fur Buyers in Eastern MT/Western ND/Fur handling

Dmanuel

Hey does anyone know of any fur buyers in eastern MT/western ND, I live in Fairview MT right on the ND Border. Also when getting a pelt ready for sale(coyote)I need to skin flesh and then stretch and dry it, is that all I need to do? If so what is the proper way to store them? And how long can one store them? I am new to the selling pelts. Doesn't seem many know who buys fur around here when I ask around. I am probably asking the wrong people. I did talk to a fur buyer that lives pretty far away from me he only buys the coyotes whole within 24 hours of being killed. Any help or info would be appreciated

There are a lot of depends answers to your questions.

If you are somewhere very cold and freeze them whole, you can take your time skinning them. If you skin them and roll them right so you don't get freezer burn they can be stored like that a long time.
If you skin, flesh, clean, Form, sew and "put up" they can store for a long time in the right conditions.
For how to skin, Because buyers want it a certain way.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p9HujqIeGl0&list=UUPuxmoN5GsVG84BhIO3ScSA
Fleshing
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E56TbpYR8lg&list=UUPuxmoN5GsVG84BhIO3ScSA

Basically just watch his video's on what to do from start to finish. Other people will have other ways of doing it. But, he puts up over 200 coyotes and sends them in to sell. You will find what works for you, but it's a good starting point.

If you can't find a buyer local, then you may want to look into sending them to NAFA and creating an account. Some people prefer this and if you batch send the pelts in, saving on shipping, then you could save some money. I am a toss up on this one.
He has a video of watching the auction. It's kind of a lot to take in.

Here is my Junior i will defer to others that have more experience on it understanding.