Reloading for the 17 Remington

tugboater

Well i finally got around to doing some loading. I stated with IMR4320, Remington 7 1/2 primers and Rem brass. Initial load development went as expected (just fine). I was using a 25gr berger fb Varmit. then i switch to a 25gr kindler and every thing went to [beeep]. so i went back to the Berger and also tried the Hornady 25gr hp.Those shot great.! So i tried the Kindler again and it was shooting MOA of barn door! i still have a few more tests to do but i have a solid load for the Berger's and the Hornadys. final load was 23.6gr of IMR4320 OAL 2.400 for both. i still need to tweak the Hornady's a bit. I guess my BDL just doesn't like the BT hollow points just the FB's. Haven't had that happen before but I'm still pretty new to this. here is a pic of my target. the top is the hornady that i need to tweak seating depth and the bottom is the Berger that will be final load. i still need to run through the chronograph.

Originally Posted By: FurhunterPlenty good enough to kill coyotes!

That what I was thinking Fur
smile.gif

Oal 2.40 ,I thought my guns like long loads. I am at 2.2- 2.215 for Hornady 25hp and kindler 29. Both the Rem 700 and the Shilen Ar barrel.

You know, I got my first .17 Remington in 1979 and I have been reloading for them ever since. Back then only the Hornady 25 grain HP and the Remington 25 grain HP (and those were hard to find) were available so I had to do with what was out there.

Anyway, things are much better nowadays. Ever since I discovered the Hornady Vmax and Varget combo lit with a CCI BR primer my .17 shooting went from so-so to 5 touching at 100 yards. Any size critter is in grave danger out past 400 yards. Longest kill on a prairie dog was just over 450.