New 6.5 Grendel

Originally Posted By: Stu Farish"I know a guy" LOL

Between guns & scuba diving I'll never have any money
wink.gif

Maybe a 6 MM spear gun would come in handy. I know they have 12 gauge Bang Sticks....

I know a guy that could build it.

Greg

I'll keep it in mind. I need an upper for my wife's new rifle but this would be more than we can do right now. Maybe a bit down the road.

I'm glad I got this conversation started, learn something new every day, who is it that specializes in this round, so I know who to talk to when I'm ready. Is this different than the 6mm AR cartridge.

Originally Posted By: ICU22-250I'm glad I got this conversation started, learn something new every day, who is it that specializes in this round, so I know who to talk to when I'm ready. Is this different than the 6mm AR cartridge.

That would be Ritch on the banner below. I'm also a Pro Staff for RPG.

The shoulder location is slightly different with the 243 LBC that Ritch does is a just a tiny bit taller. Same dies with a slight performance improvement becuse of the barrels it is chambered in being polygonal. Of course the chamber has a few other nuances in different free bore and leade.

Greg

Originally Posted By: devildoggWhat kind of velocities r u guys getting with a 95gr and 70gr bullet out of the 243 lbc

Not pushing, in mine, 95-2950 70- 3175-3250.

Greg

Last edited:
Guy I hunt with has shot a Bushmaster Varminter for years hunting coyotes. He has always loaded ammo to the "hot" side. Went to a Grendel this year and said almost every running shot he was shooting behind them. Something to keep in mind when shooting your new rifle. Would be nice to chrony them to see what the difference is.

The grendel is slower than a 223. Lighter bullets obviously can close that gap some, I'd have to look up data to see how much.

I used Hornady factory ammo to get it on paper & zero'd at 100 yards, will eventually result in another 100 pieces of brass.