On to the thermal

jamesd

So now that I ordered my night vision scope I'm trying to decide what to get for a thermal unit. Looking to spend between 3-4K. Any pros or cons with different units? I'm looking at a ATN OTS-X-F314 or a FLIR PS 32.
Thanks
I'm also considering getting a scope and using it as a monocular.

Last edited:
I've had no experience with ATN products. My FLIR ps32 has served me very well. Using gen3 NV is great, but the hand held thermal is the game changer when hunting at night.

I have the ATN and I like it....never used the Flir but I know they make good stuff. I chose the ATN because it uses a CR123 battery and I can change it in the field if needed.....I get about 2 hrs. out of a battery. Jusy my 2 cents....hope it helps

Originally Posted By: larrybI have the ATN and I like it....never used the Flir but I know they make good stuff. I chose the A.TN because it uses a CR123 battery and I can change it in the field if needed.....I get about 2 hrs. out of a battery. Jusy my 2 cents....hope it helps
Thanks,
The battery is the main concern for me,sometimes I hunt for several hours and it can be kinda chilly around here near and below zero is not uncommon.
Can you get CR123 rechargeables?

I have a Flir ps32, my pal has that & the ps64.
They are the tops for scanning at night IMO & will say I have not used any other brand of thermal to compare it to.
I have a 3000mha battery pack (about $25 @ menards)that fits into my shirt pocket and run the usb cord to it that I hook up when it drops to 1/2 charge and run it all night long steadily on unless Im moving in the truck.

The only issue I see w/a thermal clip on scope is scanning w/it and trying to attaché it fast as you can on the firearm and looking back through it to shoot said animal. A pal does it that way and I have shot every coyote I saw with him as he is messing w/putting it back on the gun and the coyote is starting to head out of the area.