coyote hunting during my up coming trip to vegas?

Dave A

hey guys I never been west I just started predator hunting in md. I,m taking a trip to vegas for a trade show I'd love to get away for a few to try for some coyote.Can you do that in that area ? Is it safe should I have a guide, can I take a rifle on a plane , will the hotel lock up my gear?

Rifles on plane are fine, check with TSA AND your airline for their rules. I know for afact it must be a hard sided case locked and unable to be opened without unlocking. Ammo must be in its original container or a container that protects the primers (magazines are unacceptable). There is a limit to how many rounds can be in the case with the gun but they can be tossed into checked luggage no problem.

Most hotels require you to check them with security, but DADT, if your using a pelican case whos to say its not camera equipment? Keep it locked up in the room (obviously). For hunting the area i leave that up to others, im still new to the scene and hoping to make this a good season for me come sept 1 when the pups are out the den.

Any major hotel will ask what's in the case when you're checking in and they will want to keep the firearm under their control when it's in their hotel. It will be locked up until you go to get it out. I go to Las Vegas at least twice a year so I know the ropes pretty well. Without saying much more I will say that the hotel parking lots that have a check in/check out system and charge for parking also have good security. The rest you can figure out.

My advice is to call whatever airline you're flying with and get information on flying with a firearm. I do it frequently and only once did I have a problem. Someone in baggage opened my case and turned the adjustments on my scope fully clockwise. This was out of Phoenix.

Hard and locking case is required. Not sure if ammo can be in the case. Like I said, call. Save yourself some grief.