What type of call to start out with?

kch

I'm new to the predator game and looking for call suggestions. Which would be best to start out with, electronic call, hand call or diaphragm? Pros and cons of each? The only calls I'm familiar with are turkey calls. Forgot to mention, I'll be targeting coyotes mainly.

Last edited:
I would start with an e caller too. Handcalls draw all the attention to your position while an e caller will distance it from you giving you SOME forgiveness with your set up. Hand calls are personally a lot more rewarding, but make it very easy to be busted. I'd save them until you get the hang of how you set up down.

I am going to very respectfully disagree with the previous responses.
While e-calls (such as FoxPro) indeed are easy to use, and do help keep the attention away from you (the shooter)......they are also expensive. Even the least expensive units, regardless of brand are generally $120-$200.

That is a big investment, if you are just starting out, and are unsure how well you will like calling predators.

A much wiser investment, to start (IMHO), is to get both a closed-reed distress call, and an open-reed variable-pitch distress call.

Granted, to get "proficient", you will need to spend some quality time AT HOME learning how to use these calls.

However, closed-reeds are super easy...and everyone can quickly learn the very basics of an open-reed....if they are willing to do some practicing.

And......depending on whether you buy "store-bought" brands, or "custom" calls......a person can get into a pair of calls for $20-$50.
Money-wise, that is a much smarter idea (IMHO) for someone who is unsure of how well he'll like calling.

Some folks will suggest to guys brand-new to the sport, that they should also buy a howler.
IMHO, a new hunter should get to know their distress calls very well, before venturing into the howling.