.308 vs 6.8 ??

+1 for the 6.8 unless you really really need that 350+ range.

Here is my RRA upper on a fraken lower

6-8.jpg

Lowest speed with proper opening velocity threshold on the 120 SST and 95 TTSX put the max effective range at about 438 Yards give or take depending on your load.

I own a 6,8mm Bushmaster and it is a great rifle. When, you go the AR-10, it is a good move. I have a DPMS 243 with a 308 upper. Do not worry about a few extra pounds. As my Drill Instructor told us that are M14's would get lighter each week. Don't over look the 243. If you reload you may need small base dies. I needed them for my rifle. Have fun.

I have a Wilson Combat Recon Tactical in 6.8mm SPC.
The Wilson was a serious chunk of change to pay for a gun for a regular working guy like me, but it's what I wanted and I saved up and got it. And I LOVE it!

A Springfield M1A .308 used to be near the top of my wish list. I have shot one but never owned. (Not an AR, but that's my point of reference.)

Having the 6.8 has helped me get over my .308 lust. If I need to hit harder, further out, I have bolt guns for that. At more realistic hunting distances, for just about any size game I could find around here (except maybe aoudad, which can be found without traveling too terribly far, and are very tough critters) the the 6.8 will do the job in a light-weight, handy rifle that gives me quick follow up shots if needed. I'd still like a .308, some day, but it's moved from the "GOT TO HAVE IT" list to the "yeah, that would be nice" list.

Ammo seems to be much more available than it was just a few months or a year ago. I'm finding it in most stores. Maybe not much selection in local shops, but I can find a box or two just about anywhere. Bigger places generally have higher quantities and more selection, of course. I found a pile of it a Cabela's last weekend.