Target Panic

grinder67

I have been shooting and hunting with a bow for 30+ years. For the last 10 years I have struggled with severe target panic. I was still able to take deer with no problems but when it was target shooting the instant i knew that I was going to pull the trigger I could not make myself put the pin any closer to the bullseye than a coulple inches. If I told myself that I wasnt going to shoot I could hold the pin solid on the bull for a good 30 seconds or better. But as soon as I decided to shoot BAM the pin would fall coulpe inches low and I could not make myself put it back on the target. I tried many different techniques some helped some didnt but none seemed to last. I was to the point of giving the bow up. I was over it!
A few weeks ago I got access to a back tension release to be specific a carter honey. I had heard these type releases where the way to go for people with target panic but didnt want to spend the high price for another failure. Man alive! Am I glad I did! My shooting has done a complete turn around and my confidence is higher than its been in a decade.
Sorry for the long post but I am psyched and wanted to share.

I wasn't aware that target panic was possible shooting with a trigger and sights.I went through it for a few months once but that was with trad gear.I wouldn't wish it on my worse enemy.From an interview with Fred Bear "I don't even want to talk about it".

Target Panic is completely possible with a modern compound and release. Many shooters have suffered through it. Thank goodness it has never affected me personally.
smile.gif

Originally Posted By: grinder67 What is trad gear?