Got my first Texas Coyote **Long Story**

CodyG1

Well guys, I finally did it, shot my first coyote (both called in, and in Texas) and got to witness some decoy dogging as well! If any of you remember not long ago I was asking about finding land to hunt, since I am a college student that moved from Virginia to Texas. I managed to stumble upon 200 acres that wasn't ever hunted by accident really. While visiting the local Cabelas and picking up some bullets, I started talking to an older gentleman about nothing really. We continued talking and he gave me a business card and mentioned that he owned a ranch (this of course perked my interest) and that the ranch was full of hogs and coyotes. Fast forward a few days and I decided to give him a call, I intended to just come out and ask him in person, take it slow. Things went better than expected so we worked it out and he told me over the phone to bring a gun and be ready, lol.
I got there on friday and seen an ungodly amount of hog sign, being from Virginia I had never witnessed the damage these beasts could do!
I spent the time gawking at it all and an afternoon playing cards, doing a walk around, and getting acquainted with the land owner. It is about a 65 mile drive, which is a bummer for a broke college student like myself, but I knew this is a piece of land I really want locked down so I knew it would be wise to make a friend and not just hunt once or twice and leave. The property is really closed in, there are roads that run in the middle of it and on the edges, making about 3 or 4 spots you can see about 300 or 400 yards before the road runs out, otherwise its so thick you're lucky to see 10 yards in the bushes. From what I gather this makes great hog territory, and coyotes were there too as judged by the tracks, when I could find a track that the hogs hadn't destroyed. I left empty handed but I could come back and thats what mattered.