Meet Jezebel, the reactive coyote target...

JTPinTX

Custom Call Maker
I made her for my 6 year old daughter to learn where to shoot a coyote. I know I am no artist and the paint could be a lot more realistic, but I figure it beats just a black silhouette. I figure a couple practice runs with Jezebel and my CZ-527 and we will be ready to try calling one up for my daughter.

Jezebel is actual size, right around 17"-18" at the shoulder. The vital zone has a 4"x1/2" thick piece of AR-500 steel hung on two chains. The body is made out of 3/8" thick copoly polypropylene, very tough and not brittle. I used it instead of plywood because it won't splinter or fall apart in the rain. I found the life-size coyote on the internet somewhere, it prints out on 13 sheets of paper and you tape it together. I used that as a pattern, and modified it slightly.

I have a set of five like yours that we use at our club shoot. The gong on mine is the size of the heart lung area of a coyote and we set them up at various range out to 300 yards.

The one in the front here is a pop up and comes up after your last shot on the gongs, it needs to be scored as I couldn't get a gong to pop up too heavy

Before I modified them in to gong backed, I bought a full sized coyote target and cut it out for a pattern.

Last edited:
That's cool, I have been thinking about making a second one. If I do I will use a 6" piece of steel and move it back an inch and up half an inch. That would actually be more realistic I think. For my daughter though, I wanted to teach her to be precise with her shooting because I figure during the excitement of the hunt things are going to open up!

I had one cut from Ar550-5/8 it is more wolf size than coyote no good for ranging with recital but figure the real thing is aim small miss small, pick a spot and hit that spot.

Last edited:
Hey this was a great idea to get your daughter practiced up on shooting coyotes. You can also use these for calling coyotes.