Looking for Places to hunt hogs in Georgia?

Rudi

So here is my dilemma, I am a recent college Graduate who has a buddy who lives in Atlanta... I am thinking about going down to see him in March. Last time I went down we went on a guided hog hunt in Macon, it was fun but, my god it got expensive fast...$600 bucks for 2 hogs and the tip for our guide... My question for you guys, is do you know any guide services that are going to be cheaper... or better yet do you know of any public land that two Yanks could roam around for a few days chasing some "WILD" hogs.

Our guided hunt was great but it was a guaranteed kill, "I figured they just had but loads of hogs on the property" when in fact it was a fenced
blush.gif
in 100 acre property that had a one way trap door to keep the hogs on the property... I am not sure that I want to hunt that way again, It was too expensive, and I would rather hunt in a more sporting manner...Would appreciate your guys thoughts comments and wisdom!

Oaky Woods WMA , Beaver dam, Tuckahoe(BIG HOG), Ocmulgee Seem to be the best public places I could find after hitting the Interwebs...

Oaky Woods WMA , Beaver dam, Tuckahoe(BIG HOG), Ocmulgee Seem to be the best public places I could find after hitting the Interwebs...

i think some go to Ft. Stewart,, and look into Bond swamp ,,bond swamp might have a season ??
maybe look into a lease ,might be cheaper in the long run

Thanks I definitely will look at it. Yeah I would buy a lease in a heart beat if I lived a little closer.... I am slightly worried about the public land hog hunting, it looks GA has some fire arms restrictions based on season.I am not real anxious to chase a hog with a .22 mag....
Plus no night hunting
frown.gif
on public grounds

You say 'too expensive' at $600 for two of you. I have some questions about that.

How long did the hunt take in hours/time?
Was it just one 'guide'?
Did they 'guide' you to the hogs?
Did they provide you with any equipment at all(Ammo, rifles, gear)?