Thermal or Night Vision?

I have a few friends that think my gear collection is over the top amazing ( I have 3 PVS14s and 1 MLS618).

I then see what Skypup has.

I am unworthy. I am a mere rookie amateur wannabe poser.

When you've got a serious infestation of swine, you learn to seek the heat and light the night in a hurry....
thumbup1.gif

If you look back though, I started out with LED lights and used them for a couple of years before upgrading to NV and then to thermal, each step was a logarithmic increase in fur and bacon harvest. Last year we took down over three hundred hogs and about 35 coyotes, so I would consider that a success even though they keep on coming back for more lead.

Could you imagine having the equipment that you have now back then before the hogs got educated.

eLguPc.gif

" You can't handle the bacon! "

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: Hard_wareCould you imagine having the equipment that you have now back then before the hogs got educated.

" You can't handle the bacon! "

All I can say is that I have never regretted any of it.

I am amazed and perplexed when I read people who state that they are waiting for NV/Thermal prices to fall before they get the equipment they need to hunt vermin at night, they miss out 100% on action that is worth more than the equipment by waiting and not being able to make a decision.

Once you have the equipment you need, it is all good and you do not look back! I never puchase anything I do not plan on using for the next ten years either....

By the time some get good NV, you will need thermal to hunt with to be productive.

The critters in the open were done in by spotlights, then night vision now the only ones left are hiding in the bushes
laugh.gif

Skypup, I have the two Flir, PVS14 on a Wendy Helmut with a Surefire IR Flashlight (that I hate due to excessive washout near me), Raptor Gen 3 6X and a M845 Gen 2 2.8X.