Snares and deer?

emmac13

I am new to trapping. I have been searching and learning a lot. I know you place a snare either low or high on a run based on the critter you want to catch. I would like to catch fox/coyotes. Do you have to worry about deer? I have heard this asked around friends and the answer is "NO". Has anybody had issues getting deer caught in a snare? I would hate to catch and have to deal with a deer. I plan to make some "penny washer snares". Thanks

Did some searching here with the PM seach engine powered by Google. It happens. Deer sometimes feed into snares. With time and experience I will learn where NOT to set a snare because this is most probable. There are mechanisms that can be added to the snare to make them break away or not close all the way. i.e. J hooks

I am fairly new to trapping as well and my short experience with snares has been miserable. I have caught two deer around the neck and both were in snare loops set for fox under fences. the loops were 5" diameter less than 6" off the ground. I don't have a clue how to prevent catching them so I quit using them. Ill be watching to see if there are any responses that will help us. Thanks for asking a good question.

Some states require break-away links on snares (wanna say 150#) in case you catch deer. Frankly, my experience has been that break-away links are worse than hard tied. At least if a deer gets stuck in my snare set, it has a chance of me finding it in the morning before it's dead. On the other hand, I've found dead deer with torn away snares that got snagged over fences, in brush, etc. Around the neck, 150lbs is enough to set the snare tight enough to kill a deer, but if it catches a leg, the break-aways let the deer escape WITH A SNARE SET AROUND THEIR LEG. A tarp, a pair of partners, and some wire cutters get a leg snared deer free. But if it runs off, then it's usually coyotes that get it out of the snare after it snags up on something else.