22-250 1 in 14 twist bullets

MJS1977

I'm new to reloading, haven't even started yet since i'm gathering my components, but i have a question for the 22-250 guys out there.

I've done a lot of reading and have written down a lot of info to aid in my reloading.

I have a winchester model 70 coyote light with a 1 in 14 twist. For the last 2 years i've been shooting hornady superformance varmint 50gr v max factory loads and it shoots good but i want to start reloading for my rifles.

I mostly shoot groundhogs out to 300 yards or maybe a tad longer occasionally. I've read with a slow twist that anything heavier than 55 will not stabilize well enought. I plan on shooting Nosler ballistic tips but i'm not sure if i should shoot 40gr, 45gr or 50gr bullets.

Which gr bullet shoot i purchase to begin working up loads suited for my needs?

I would start with the same grain bullet that you have been using. Heavier bullets usually get more stability but slower speeds. You could try lighter weight as an experiment, but the wind may have much more effect on them. There are so many choices depending upon your needs with a 22 cal bullet. Get a good reloading manual and look at the ballistics, see which one looks like the best for your needs. Then, this is where it gets interesting. See what Powder, primer, projectile works the best. This is where the "reloading" makes it more expensive. Good luck.