30 cal coyote bullet??

Zion9

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting and wanted to pose a question to you all. So I just found out about predator hunting not too long ago and it sound like something I would really enjoy. I have never actually hunted anything before....my dad was always more of a fishing kind of guy..... but I really would like to try it out. The main problem I have is that the only hunting rifle I have is a savage model 99 from my grandfather in 300 savage. I would kinda like to keep the hide or have the first one mounted that I shoot...(if I make it that far) so I was curious if there were any bullets I could reload for the 99 that would not blow massive holes in the coyote. I've read two theories.....1st is to use 110gr bullets designed for the m1 carbine. 2nd go with a heavy bullet that hardly expands so you have a clean shot all the way through both sides. Any suggestions would help. This savage has been in a gun cabinet for more than 15yrs.....I really want to see what the old girl can do. Thanks

The M1 carbine bullet will go all the way through... and the dog is likely to run all the way to Hades .

Use a blunt hollow point like these:

http://www.midwayusa.com/product/336780/...oint-box-of-100

You can drive them slowish and they will deliver.

You will have to look around for them.... but these days, what else is new??

frown.gif

Originally Posted By: BeluebowI can promise ya a Berger 215gr Hybrid out of 300wm isn't fur friendly at 40yrds.
just guess but DRT?
smile.gif

Actually my 22-250 ai tore one up like that last weekend.

I also have a Ithaca model 37. Would it be easier to try to call them in close and use that instead of trying to reload for 300 savage? I would be hunting in Kentucky and Tennessee where you can't see for miles due to the trees and hills. Are shotguns easier on pelts though?