Calling Sequence

I am new to coyote hunting and just purchased a FoxPro Wildfire 2. I would like some advice on what calls to run in a sequence. I have been starting with the coyote locator for a few minutes and then changing to the adult cottontail. Should I go to a third of fourth call? How long should I let each call run for? Do you run say the cottontail for a few minutes then shut it off and wait? Any advice would be appreciated. I did call in 2 the first day out running the coyote locator, but I was waving the transmitter over my head trying to control the call and they saw me. (had the call in some weeds that I found out inhibited the signal)

You may call in more coyotes if you do not start with the coyote locator sound.

I use distress sounds most of the time and let the sounds play continuously. Lightning Jack, Jack Rabbit Distress, Adult Cottontail, DSG Cottontail, Bay Bee Cottontail, Snow Shoe Hi Pitch, Prairie Dog Distress, Adult Rat and Vole Squeaks. All of these sounds work great for me and there are no Prairie Dogs anywhere near the areas I hunt.

I do raise and lower the volume during the stand.

Playing Coyote Pup Distress 3 on full volume for 3 or 4 minutes at the end of a stand has also called in quite a few coyotes for me.

for some reason lately.. early december.. ive been having good luck using pups in distress followed with juvenile and adult racoon distress and going back to pup distress... repeat as necessary... only as a night call though. during the day cant go wrong with any rodent distress

Last edited:
"Starting off with howls ensures you will scare all subordinate coyotes away."
--------------------
Not entirely true. I think that barking is a no-no most of the time because the less aggressive coyotes may perceive the barks as aggression. I prefer friendly sounding howls most of the time.