Shotgunned 3 coyotes, live pictures and a video!

derbyacresbob

This morning I started calling at 6:20 am about 1/2 mile from the rancher's house.

I was sitting next to a juniper with my Foxpro fury about 15 yards out in front of me. I had my shotgun in my hands and my 22-250 sitting next to me.

Before I started playing Bay Bee Cottontail I heard a coyote challenge barking about a mile away.

Bay Bee Cottontail had been playing for about 10 minutes when I noticed a coyote about 35 yards away standing still looking right at my Fury and FoxJack decoy.

So I slowly raised up my shotgun and shot the coyote. Foxbang switched the sound to Coyote Pup Screams and I let that play for a few minutes. Then I played Male Coyote Challenge 4 for about 1 minute. Then I switched to Coyote Pup Distress 3.

After playing Pup Distress 3 for about 3 minutes on full volume I was about ready to quit the stand when I saw two coyote ears heading up the ridge towards me.

It ended up being a big male that was upset and ready to fight. When he got downwind of my Fury he was about 25 yards away, he turned to leave so I put him down with my shotgun.

008-4.jpg

Getting two coyotes on the first stand of the day is a good thing!

The next stand I made is a great spot. I set the Fury about 15 yards from me down a pretty steep hill. I had my Contour Roam Video Camera about 4 ft above and behind the Fury and FoxJack decoy.

I was sitting in the shade of a small tree with my shotgun in my lap and my camera in my hands.

I started out playing a Blacktail Fawn sound and then switched to Bay Bee Cottontal after about 8 minutes or so.

I was watching the brush and tree line that was about 80 yards below me. I had my camera in my hands and was holding it in fron of my face just a few inches under my eyes so I could see over the camera.

Then I noticed a coyote in the shade of the brush and trees straight down below me.

011-3.jpg

This is where I first saw the coyote.

015-3.jpg