Changing barrels on remington R15

ItemB

I have a remington R15 predator rifle with the 22 inch barrel. I would like to put a shorter barrel on like the 18 inch or even a 16 inch. Is this even possible and what is all involved when changing a AR15 barrel? If this is a dumb question I apologize I am new to the AR game really liking it though just wish I would have went with the shorter barrel.

Will need a barrel, gas tube and maybe handguard.
Easy change, with the right tools.
Shop should do it for about $25 in about 15-20 minutes

Awesome didn't realize it would be that easy now I just need to find a barrel. Any suggestions would like it be of lighter weight like the current R15 barrel just shorter maybe I will contact remington on Monday and see if they make the 18 inch barrel as a individual part.

Originally Posted By: ItemBI have a remington R15 predator rifle with the 22 inch barrel. I would like to put a shorter barrel on like the 18 inch or even a 16 inch. Is this even possible and what is all involved when changing a AR15 barrel? If this is a dumb question I apologize I am new to the AR game really liking it though just wish I would have went with the shorter barrel.

What about cutting the barrel off to the length you desire and having it re-crowned ? Would be cheaper then a new barrel, smith work..If so cut it to 18 inches if you can with a band-saw..

Originally Posted By: cyoteklerOriginally Posted By: ItemBI have a remington R15 predator rifle with the 22 inch barrel. I would like to put a shorter barrel on like the 18 inch or even a 16 inch. Is this even possible and what is all involved when changing a AR15 barrel? If this is a dumb question I apologize I am new to the AR game really liking it though just wish I would have went with the shorter barrel.

What about cutting the barrel off to the length you desire and having it re-crowned ? Would be cheaper then a new barrel, smith work..If so cut it to 18 inches if you can with a band-saw..