Reloading Manual

It really depends on what you load. I load .17 calibers and most reloading manuals start at 204 ruger. The hornady has quite a few 17 calibers in it.

This question is asked quite often and I don't think you can really pick just one. I have over 2 dozen of them.

I think you need at least one from a bullet manufacture and one from a powder supplier.

The one from the bullet company will have various powders, the one from the powder company will have various bullets.

That to me is the least you can do.

There is so much "load data" available on line these days, that I very seldom end up in a book anymore. And I mean actual data from manufactures, not stuff on forums.

However a while back I wanted a load for 200 gr. 35 Rem.using RL#7 and I ended up finding it in my 1951 Lyman book.

BUT:If I had to answer your question it would probably be a Lyman a newer Lyman manual. That's what I grew up on.

Sorry for rambling, hope this helps.

Being a beginner I only own one, the Lee Manual. I currently have the Nosler and Speer manuals checked out from our library. I did that to find out which I like best for my next purchase. I also go the the supply store and look through the Hornady often.

What I have found is the manuals from bullet manufacturers seem to only list a few powder options for a particular bullet/weight. Going to the powder manufacturers reload data gives load data not found in some books.

I looked over the Hodgden & Alliant Powder(those being the only powders I am finding locally) webpages to get data for everything I load and found plenty of options.

http://data.hodgdon.com/main_menu.asp

I think a person could get by with only one manual. I would suggest starting with the one you feel is strongest in explaining safety, methods,and tips for reloading rather than having tons of load data. Then look at the webpage for whatever powder you can find to see if they offer a load for what you are loading.