Tell me the good and the bad about Contenders......

Contender I have no experience with but Encores I do. I have owned two receivers one shot good with my two barrels(.223 and 17 Mach IV Bullberry barrels) the second shot terrible with the same barrels. I got tired of them and felt lucky to get rid of them.
I have loaded and shot a 7mm/08 and a 22-250 more recently and while it is OK you have to be very careful when sizing brass or you will get light primer strikes. Accuracy is OK for a Big game rifle 1.5 inch at 100.
Pros- short overall able to swap barrels..they are good truck guns

Con’s - Accuracy can be good but don’t count on it and you may have to do some mod’s to achieve. When there is 5-10 hogs out there in a pasture you will realize the other con.

Originally Posted By: venaticWhen there is 5-10 hogs out there in a pasture you will realize the other con.

Or any other multiple critters. The thought of charging muskrats and only a Contender in hand scares the bejeezus outta me.

Originally Posted By: doggin coyotesOriginally Posted By: venaticWhen there is 5-10 hogs out there in a pasture you will realize the other con.

Or any other multiple critters. The thought of charging muskrats and only a Contender in hand scares the bejeezus outta me.

I agree,we don’t have muskrats but we do have Nutria rats and they have big teeth and nasty attitudes. You never know when you will have to stop a charging cat and you want firepower.....

Or you could just flash a camera in its eyes and say “boo”

I have 2 Contender frames along with several various caliber barrels and a Encore with a few barrels as well.

Pros...
1) You want a new caliber firearm you can just order a barrel from infinite sources whether it's local, online, or over the phone with no hassles

2) You get used to your trigger group and it's the same on all your "rifles" because you're only changing barrels