Hey .260 AR10 guys, learn me something.

bluealtered

Ok, i can't fight it any longer. I'm going to do a .260 ar10 to round out my 260 family of rifles. I haven't even started looking at specs yet but thought i would ask you guys about yours first.

Twist and length i know, weight i don't know, (it will be a carry rifle) or what issues i need to address before starting the project. So what have you guys learned from doing yours? Thanks.

Last edited:
I am also looking at either a 260 or 7mm-08. I will be watching this thread also to see what the experts say !
thumbup1.gif

I had a 308 and have a 243.Weight is the only think I would like to change.I don't know how you could make it lighter except a shorter lighter barrel.I am no expert.I will be interested to see if someone has a way to lighten them up.

I did some looking into this caliber an am going to go with the 6.5 creedmore because I an stuck on using the mega upper and lower. I would recommend using armalite upper lower for the 260 cause you can load longer out of the mags. I am by no means an expert that is just my opinion.

Not necessarily a good time to build. I am trying to build a 6.5 Creedmoor and am having trouble finding the parts. I can't find a bolt and carrier anywhere. I have one on backorder. Everything else is either here or headed my way although a few parts are not my first choice. I do have my barrel and after checking my max COAL with the bullets I want to load I have several that I will want to load longer than mag length will allow.

I know the CM case is a little shorter than the 260 which is why I chose the CM. I am building a DPMS pattern and I don't know how much more mag length an Armalite will give. I wish I could get about .1 more out of a pmag.

So where did you guys end up with this? I just ordered my matched lower/upper and am leaning towards a kreiger barrel may go as long as 26", but would love to see what you guys came up with.

Originally Posted By: bluealtered