55 grain Nosler in 243 Winchester.

Jimeswa

I recently purchased the Nosler 55 grain FBHP I am using varget cause so far it hasn't let me down. I am seating to 2.510 per Nosler themselves. My question is has any one tried this combo at max loads and seen any over pressure signs? I have seen lots of talk about different powders and even some about varget. Nothing I've seen talks about pressure issues at 4000 fps. I had to research to find the seat to dept and ended up calling Nosler to get that.

Their max is usually conservative. It's a fast bullet in .243/6mm without seeing too many flat primers. 4000-4200 is kind of normal.

It's fun to watch the chrony get into the 4 handles, but think about backing off a bit for hunting loads. That bullet explodes just as well at 3800.

Ive been loading the 55gr nosler for 2 months now...no problems....I hav nt reached the Max on my grains....but do not see any pressures signs as I'm climbing...I love the bullet and have decided this is my varmint and dawg load.

For a simple way to help with bullet seating depth, the hornady lok&load OAL guage & modified case are hard to beat. I've had good luck with Berger 65grs being pushed with Reloader #15. For the 4000fps I would use your reloading manual starting load, & work up slowly watching for pressure signs.

243 Winchester...I'm about in the middle with my grains....Col is 2.035...cci primers...760 powder and seating the bullets to a total of 2.650...fps is just about 3800...what powders are you useing...you seats seem alittle deep....Rusty

I use 760 and CFE with them. You don't need a book to tell you what your rifles chamber & throat are; you just need calipers.

58 gr V max Hornaday bullet in .243, Rem 700 with 47.4 gr of W760 gives about 3700 fps ( according to Winchester on line question and answers) and the bullet completely disintegrates inside a coyote out to 175 yards.